Winners of 2014 Design Management Award Announced

The Winners in this year’s DME Awards were announced at a multi-national ceremony at Cite du Design on the 20th of November in Saint Etienne, France.

The DME is the only international award that recognises how organisations manage design (rather than their actual product or service). Representatives from the fourteen shortlisted entries gathered along with 200 other delegates from across Europe to find out who would receive a winner’s trophy or Honourable Mention in each of the following five categories.

DME Award 2014/15 Winners and Honorable Mentions:
Large companies
Newell Rubbermaid (USA) - Winner.
AutoScout24 (Germany) - Winner.
Carrefore (France) - Honourable Mention.
SAP SE (Germany) - Honourable Mention.

Medium sized companies
Imperia AG (Germany) - Winner.
Intra Lighting (Slovenia) - Honourable Mention.

Small company
Specialist Precast Products (UK) – Winner
Marset Iluminacion S.A. (Spain) – Winner
PRO Produkcja Sp.z.o.o. (Poland) – Honourable Mention.

Micro company
Quut (Belgium) – Winner.
Octagon Design S.L. (Spain) – Honourable Mention.
BiomeDesign (Canada) – Honourable Mention.

Non-profit organisation
Myddfai Trading Company (UK) – Winner.
vzw Web (Belgium) – Honourable Mention.

Entering the DME requires the submission of a poster that summarises each organisations approach to managing design that is then assessed by independent experts. This year’s judges were Carole Bilson, President of the Design Management Institute (USA); Les Wynn, Head of the European Experience Design Team at HCL (UK) and Roel Stavorinus, an experienced design management consultant who’s clients have included several previous DME Award and a Red Dot winners (Netherlands).

The posters from all of the shortlisted entries are available on the DME website, further adding to the largest collection of design management insight anywhere in the world and a resource that is available free to anyone in both industry and education.
Past winners have included Heineken, Glaxo-Smith-Kline, Procter & Gamble, LEGO, Schneider Electric and many more.


Severin Filek - Managing Director, designaustria hands over the DME Award Honourable Mention - Large Company Category to Andreas Hauser - SVP, Global Head of Design and Co-Innovation Center at SAP AG and Tobias Haug - Head of Design & Co-Innovation Center, EMEA at SAP.